All was well. – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling.

The end of a friendship will always feel heavy on the heart, and the end of Harry Potter’s epic weighs just as heavy as a real person’s.

This Harry Potter, the Boy-Who-Lived, became as revered and loved by us Muggles as he was in his own world. His plight was of the most important for us, and he has provided us a sense of collectiveness, because we all wanted to know what will happen to him and his quest.

 Kudos to Ms. Rowling for ending the epic with the same wit and wonder it had started with. Though the Deathly Hallows is still a bit bitin for my tastes, I cannot imagine how one would end it any better. The twists still made sense, the characters still multi-faceted, and whatever Ms. Rowling intended her readers to feel, I’m pretty sure they felt it. The story was fast-paced, tense and alien: exactly what one would feel if they were to leave school at 17 and forced to go on a mission to hunt and kill the world’s most dangerous terrorist. That would be like just graduating highschool to find out you’re frontlining the war in the Middle East. But then, it would still not be that terrible. The terrorist will not be aiming for you personally.

It is so strange to realize that even after reading spoilers and waiting a week before getting the book, I still had to hold my breath as each twist revealed itself, I still had to shed tears for slain characters even when knowing that they’ll die. Actually, it was worse when you know that they’ll die: you end up working yourself up into a fit, wanting to stop reading and yet you can’t. I read the spoilers so that I won’t need to grieve when it’s over because I’ve already heard about it. And yet, I still felt loss. I still felt wistful at the thought that there will no more Harry Potter, no more Hogwarts, no more magic.

It’s hard to let go of an entire world.

*********

~ by angmgatuhod on 29 July, 2007.

One Response to “All was well. – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling.”

  1. Please, save Harry Potter. 🙂

Leave a comment